NTC Awards of Excellence

2019 Awards of Excellence

For the third year, President Hensrud, together with her Cabinet, will honor employees with the Awards of Excellence at the Employee Recognition Breakfast on Friday, May 3, 2019.  The Awards of Excellence nomination period for 2019 opened Monday, February 25 and will close on Friday, March 22.  Members of the President’s Cabinet will then review the nominations and select recipients to be revealed at the May 3rd recognition breakfast.  Please make plans to attend!

Nominate Your Colleagues

Use the links below to submit your nominations!

About the Awards

After consultation with campus stakeholders, President Faith Hensrud initiated a new annual employee awards program, the Awards of Excellence, in 2017. The awards, identified below, recognize and celebrate the dedicated work and service of Northwest Technical College faculty, staff and administrators, both over the previous year and across employees’ entire careers at the college.

This award is presented to a member of the Northwest Technical College faculty or staff who has been employed at NTC for at least five years. The recipient will have an ongoing record of superlative performance and professional excellence combined with significant personal impact in the areas of student success, civic engagement, diversity, sustainability and/or public service.


2017 — Gary Sorenson, accounting faculty
2018 — Pam Stowe, child care faculty
2019 — Sue Sutton, medical coding

This award is presented to a member of the Northwest Technical College faculty. The recipient will have demonstrated teaching excellence through evidence of exceptional learning outcomes and quality student advising.


2017 — Pete Thul, electrical construction
2018 — Julie Beevor, nursing

2019 — Brenda Henriksen, nursing

This award is presented to up to three individual members of the Northwest Technical College faculty or staff. The recipient(s) will have gone above and beyond expectations to contribute to the college in the areas of student success, civic engagement, diversity, sustainability and/or public service.


2017 — Doreen Kuhrke, administrative assistant
2018 — Lisa Hanson, admissions

2019 — Sandy Thole, nursing lab assistant

This award is presented to one or more individuals and/or members of a team, such as the staff of an office or department. Recipient(s) will be people whose positive attitude and infectious enthusiasm embody the Spirit of NTC through active support of students, student-athletes, coworkers and/or community members.


2017 — Sarah Plahn, enrollment services
2018 — Grace Ferdinandt, financial aid

2019 — Shane Jensen, IT

2019 (team) — Nursing faculty