NTC Awards Ceremony Celebrates More Than 30 Scholarship Recipients

Northwest Technical College Scholarship Breakfast.

Northwest Technical College Scholarship Breakfast.

Northwest Technical College celebrated more than 30 scholarship recipients during a Sept. 19 breakfast and open house.

Scholarship recipients in attendance, many supported by members of their family, were individually introduced during the reception. Each recipient received a letter of congratulation from Dr. Faith C. Hensrud, president of NTC and Bemidji State University and were congratulated by Darrin Strosahl, NTC’s vice president for academic and student affairs, and Jess Frenzel, president of the NTC Foundation Board of Directors.

In addition to the scholarship recipients and their families, NTC Foundation board members, NTC-BSU administrators and NTC faculty were in attendance.

Chelsea Bennett, human resources manager at First National Bank Bemidji and an alumna of NTC, addressed scholarship recipients at the breakfast. She shared her personal career journey and encouraged students to persevere in their education.

“Whatever you decide your path is in life, know that you made a great decision to attend NTC,” she said. “It’s a great place to start.”

In total, the college recognized recipients of 36 scholarships, supported by the Northwest Technical College Foundation, Ottertail Power Company, the Fred Breen Scholarship, the Mississippi Headwaters Blood Bank, the Paul Bunyan Vintage Auto Club, the George W. Neilson Foundation, Paul Bunyan Communications, and the Merle and Mildred Rundell Scholarshiop. The combined value of those scholarships is $44,000.

Merle and Mildred Rundell Scholarship
Eleesa Hermiston

Fred Breen Scholarships
Lorrie Prickett
Alexander Matson
Bridget Lindell
Romi Stone
Brandon Loch
Happiness Leister

George W. Neilson Foundation Scholarships
Matt Neumann
Nick Staska
Cheri Parker
Croix Golden
Morgan Drey
Deborah Brown
Emily Borah
Kiara Heuer
Ashley Gale
Alexis Ballard
Chad Butler
Hailey Perry-Miller
Savannah Peterson
Brett Reighard
Veronika Tran
Brandi Walser
Alyx Johnson
Kayla Walberg
Kaleb Roeser
Na Zhao

Otter Tail Power Company Scholarship
Aaron Patti
Derek Doering

Paul Bunyan Communications Scholarship
Dominick Muglee

NTC Foundation Scholarship
Zane Paul

Paul Bunyan Vintage Auto Scholarship
Jacob Windt

Mississippi Headwaters Bloodbank Scholarships
Marsha Sorenson
Na Zhao
Jessica Schussman
Lorrie Prickett


Northwest Technical College, located in northern Minnesota’s lake district, has prepared students for fulfilling careers in high-demand fields for more than 50 years. The college’s accessible, affordable, hands-on programs also help the region’s employers meet their ever-growing need for a highly skilled workforce. NTC serves more than 1,000 students with an excellent education, an open-enrollment policy and affordable tuition. Students may pursue nearly 40 degree, diploma and certificate programs in six distinct career paths. Classes are offered on campus, online, or as a combination of both. NTC is a member of the Minnesota State system of colleges and universities. For more, visit ntcmn.edu